Book Review: Wanderlost by Jen Malone

Posted 16 May, 2016 by Amy in Book Reviews, young adult / 4 Comments

Book Review: Wanderlost by Jen MaloneWanderlost Published by HarperTeen on May 2016
Genres: Romance, Young Adult
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher via Edelweiss
Purchase Links: Amazon US | Barnes and Noble
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Not all those who wander are lost, but Aubree Sadler most definitely is on this novel’s whirlwind trip through Europe. A romantic and charming YA debut perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Jenny Han.

Aubree can’t think of a better place to be than in perfectly boring Ohio, and she’s ready for a relaxing summer. But when her older sister, Elizabeth, gets into real trouble, Aubree is talked into taking over Elizabeth’s summer job, leading a group of senior citizens on a bus tour through Europe.

Aubree doesn’t even make it to the first stop in Amsterdam before their perfect plan unravels, leaving her with no phone, no carefully prepared binder full of helpful facts, and an unexpected guest: the tour company owner’s son, Sam. Considering she’s pretending to be Elizabeth, she absolutely shouldn’t fall for him, but she can’t help it, especially with the most romantic European cities as the backdrop for their love story.

But her relationship with Sam is threatening to ruin her relationship with her sister, and she feels like she’s letting both of them down. Aubree knows this trip may show her who she really is—she just hopes she likes where she ends up.

Note: I received this book for free from Publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. I was not paid to write this. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

Wanderlost by Jen Malone was a predictable YA contemporary. From the synopsis, you could probably predict the overall plot right from the start. It probably sounds just like your typical YA contemporary romance. However, for me, Wanderlost was quite the gem. Jen Malone’s Wanderlost was completely heartwarming with endearing characters that made the story so much more valuable than just your everyday YA contemporary romance.

Read More

Divider

Book Review: Dare to Take by Carly Phillips (Dare to Love #6)

Posted 6 May, 2016 by Amy in adult, Book Reviews / 0 Comments

Book Review: Dare to Take by Carly Phillips (Dare to Love #6)Dare to Take by Carly Phillips
Series: Dare to Love #6
Published by CP Publishing on May 2016
Genres: Adult, Romance
Format: eARC
Source: Sullivan & Partners
Purchase Links: Amazon US | Barnes and Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

She was off limits,
But he couldn't resist.

There are just some guys you don't touch--even someone as innocent and inexperienced as Ella Shaw knows that. But when her brother's best friend is up for grabs and willing, she can't resist. After all, she's wanted him for years...

On leave from the army, Tyler Dare is just looking for a little fun, but his best friend's sister is off limits. Yet unable to deny how sexy and alluring she is, he finds it all too easy to succumb to a night of passion and heat that ends the next morning in the worst way possible.

Now, Ella is stranded on a tropical island with a hurricane bearing down, and only Tyler can save her. It's his chance to make amends for the past and show the woman he's never forgotten that he's coming after her . . . in more ways than one.

Note: I received this book for free from Sullivan & Partners in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. I was not paid to write this. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

Carly Phillips has a way with contemporary romance. I’ve only read a small selection of her novels, but every one I’ve read thus far has been entertaining with fun stories. Dare to Take is no exception. It’s the first book of the Dare to Love series that I’ve read, and I already know I’m planning on reading more. The chemistry between Ella and Tyler was fantastically written, and it was fun reading their story.

Read More

Divider

Exciting May Releases

Posted 2 May, 2016 by Amy in Random Thoughts / 0 Comments

It’s May already? That’s so crazy!

Sorry, I’ve been so MIA lately and this past month especially. It’s been a busy month. I had all of these reviews and posts planned but my vacation, jet lag, and an unexpected job opportunity had me scrambling. I hardly read or journaled this month too. Let’s just say life got in the way. On the bright side, it seems things have now calmed down. So I’m hoping I’ll be back strong in May.

To start off the month, let’s discuss some of the May book releases that I’m excited for. There’s a ton of great books coming out this month, and if you weren’t ready for summer yet, the books releasing soon will get you in the summer mood for sure. I know summer contemporaries are some of my FAVORITE! Plus I don’t know if you have noticed, but May definitely seems like the month of YA. I mean the amount of titles being released is astounding. Hopefully, my bank account won’t look too terrible after this month. Anyway, without further ado, here are a few of my most anticipated May releases! :)

tone deaf summer of sloane season of you and me

1. Tone Deaf by Olivia Rivers (5/3) – I’ve already read Tone Deaf and am in the process of writing up a review. I thought it was a great story. The main character was a music prodigy until she became deaf. The story has her running away from home and an abusive father and ending up on tour with a famous music group. While the story didn’t delve into the difficult issues very deeply, I enjoyed it and thought it would be perfect for younger teens.

Read More

Divider

Exciting April Releases

Posted 13 April, 2016 by Amy in Random Thoughts / 0 Comments

Okay, okay… I know it’s almost mid-April, but per usual it’s been a busy couple of days at work. Excitingly, however, I’ve been super busy and physically exhausted because all that work has been to prep for my VACATION, which I’m on now!!! Hello, 1.5 weeks of travel and relaxation. :) Yay! So over the next several days I’ll be visiting Las Vegas (& I do have a Weekend Pass for the RT Booklovers Convention!) and Disney World. I forsee many Twitter and Instagram updates over the next several days. Hehe.

Anyway, April also had quite a few fantastic releases. So here are some titles that I’m personally most excited about.

1. Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum (4/5) – This is a title I’ve already read and reviewed. I absolutely ADORED this book. I’m claiming Jessie as my Book BFF. (You can check out my review here.)

2. When We Collided by Emery Lord (4/5) – I’m a fan of Emery Lord and have been since I’ve read her debut Open Road Summer. It comes at no surprise that I’m excited for When We Collided.

3. The Natural History of Us by Rachel Harris (4/5) – I’m really excited for this one. I’ve read and enjoyed a couple of Rachel Harris’s books before, and The Natural History of Us sounds like another good one. Plus I’m a fan of second chance romances.

Read More

Divider